Below is a list of health services research-related training programs offering a range of experiences from master’s and doctoral degrees, post-doctoral and experiential training. This list is organized alphabetically by degree type. When you click on the name of the university, you will be directed to the program landing page. The primary program contact name and email is listed for easy access, but may be found on the landing page as well.

If you have questions about this resource, or suggestions for training programs that should be included, please contact Thomas Blount at thomas.blount@academyhealth.org or fill out the submission form via the link on the sidebar.

Postdoctoral Programs

Kaiser Permanente Division of Research, Northern California
Delivery Science Fellowship Program
Dr. Richard Grant, Program Director
richard.w.grant@kp.org 
Dr. Julie Schmittdiel, Program Associate Director
Julie.A.Schmittdiel@kp.org

Kaiser Permanente Division of Research, Northern California
T32 Training Program in Diabetes Translational Research
Dr. Richard Grant, Program Director
richard.w.grant@kp.org 
Dr. Julie Schmittdiel, Program Co-Director
Julie.A.Schmittdiel@kp.org

Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute
CATALyST K12 Washington Learning Health System Scholar Program
Dr. Diana Buist, Program Co-Director
diana.s.buist@kp.org

National Cancer Institute Division of Cancer Control & Population Sciences
Training Institute for Dissemination and Implementation Research in Cancer (TIDIRC)
NCIdccpsISteam@mail.nih.gov

University of California, Los Angeles, David Geffen School of Medicine
Stakeholder-Partnered Implementation Research and Innovation Translation (SPIRIT) K12 Program 
Dr. Michael Ong, Professor of Medicine, UCLA/Hospitalist Chief, VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System 
Mong@mednet.ucla.edu

University of Colorado, Anschutz Medical Campus, School of Medicine
K12 Career Dev​elopment Training in T4 Implementation Science and Heart, Lung, Blood, and Sleep (HLBS) Disorders
Rebecca Speer, Research Training Program Manager
Rebecca.Speer@ucdenver.edu

University of Massachusetts Medical School
PRACCTIS - Prevention and Control of Cancer Training in Implementation Science
Dr. Tom Houston, Program Co-Director
thomas.houston@umass.edu
Dr. Stephanie Lemon
stephanie.lemon@umassmed.edu

University of Minnesota, School of Public Health
Minnesota Learning Health System Mentored Career Development Program
Dr. Timothy Beebe, Program Co-Director
beebe026@umn.edu

OAA National Program Contacts

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
Big Data-Scientist Training Enhancement Program (BD-STEP)
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Advanced Fellowship National Clinical Scholars Program
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Advanced Fellowship Program in Health Services Research and Development (HSR&D)
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Advanced Fellowship Program in Clinical Simulation
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Advanced Fellowship Program in Medical Informatics
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Interprofessional Fellowship Program in Patient Safety
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

U.S Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Academic Affiliations
VA Quality Scholars Fellowship Program
Dr. Stuart Gilman, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Director
Stuart.Gilman@va.gov
Dr. Jeff Cully, Advanced Fellowships and Professional Development Clinical Director
Jeffrey.Cully@va.gov

PhD Programs in Health Services Research

Baylor University, Hankamer School of Business
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Neil Fleming, Program Director
Neil_Fleming@Baylor.edu

Boston University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research 
Dr. Mari-Lynn Drainoni, Director
drainoni@bu.edu

Brown University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Amal Trivedi, Graduate Program Director
Amal_Trivedi@brown.edu 
Lisa Noble, Academic Program Coordinator
lisa_noble@brown.edu 

Emory University, Rollins School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research and Health Policy
Dr. Jason Hockenberry, Program Director
jason.hockenberry@emory.edu    
Kent Tolleson, Program Administrator
ktolles@emory.edu

Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Dr.PH concentration in Implementation Science
Dr. Stefan Baral, Concentration Faculty
sbaral@jhu.edu
Dr. Melissa Davey-Rothwell, Concentration Faculty
mdavey1@jhu.edu

Johns Hopkins University, Bloomberg School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research and Policy
Albert Wu, Ph.D., Program Director
awu@jhsph.edu

Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Ph.D. in Integrated Health Sciences
Dr. Neil Jordan, Program Director
neil-jordan@northwestern.edu 

Old Dominion University, College of Health Sciences
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Richardean Benjamin, Associate Dean 
rbenjami@odu.edu
Bonnie Van Lunen, Professor and Chair
bvanlune@odu.edu

Rutgers University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Systems and Policy
Dr. Alan C. Monheit, Professor of Health Economics and Chair; and Associate Dean of Academic and Faculty Affairs    
monheiac@sph.rutgers.edu 

Texas A&M, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Robert Ohsfeldt, Program Chair
rohsfeldt@tamhsc.edu 
Dr. Michael Morrisey, Program Vice Chair
morrisey@sph.tamhsc.edu

University of Alabama at Birmingham, School of Health Professions
Ph.D. Program in Administration Health Services
Dr. Larry Herald, Program Director
lhearld@uab.edu 

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Graduate School and College of Public Health 
Ph.D. in Health Systems  and Services Research
Dr. Holly Felix, Program Director
FelixHolly@uams.edu

University of Chicago, Division of Biological Sciences
Ph.D. In Health  Services Research
Dr. R. Tamara Konetzka, Associate Professor
konetzka@uchicago.edu 

University of Colorado Denver, School of Public Health
Ph.D. In Health  Services Research
Dr. Richard Lindrooth, Interim Chair & Professor    
richard.lindrooth@ucdenver.edu 

University of Florida, College of Public Health and Health Professions
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Arch G. Mainous III, Program Director 
arch.mainous@phhp.ufl.edu 

University of Iowa, College of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services and Policy
George L. Wehby, Associate Professor and Doctoral Program Director 
george-wehby@uiowa.edu 

University of Maryland, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services
Dr. Luisa Franzini, Professor and Chair, Health Services Administration
franzini@umd.edu 

University of Michigan, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Organization and Policy    
Edward Norton, Program Director
ecnorton@umich.edu 

University of Minnesota, School of Public Health    
Ph.D. In Health Services Research, Policy and Administration
Maureen Andrew, Major Coordinator
andre031@umn.edu 

University of North Carolina at Charlotte, College of Health and Human Services
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Larissa Huber, Program Director
lrhuber@uncc.edu 

University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School
Ph.D. in Health Care Systems
Dr. Mark V. Pauly, Director
pauly@wharton.upenn.edu 

University of Pittsburgh, School of Public Health    
Ph.D. in Health Services Research and Policy 
Jessica Dornin, Program Coordinator
jld115@pitt.edu 

University of Rochester, School of Medicine and Dentistry
Ph.D. in Health Services Research and Policy
Dr. Peter Veazie, Chief, Division of Health Policy and Outcomes Research
Peter_Veazie@urmc.rochester.edu 

University of South Carolina, Arnold School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Policy and Management    
Dr. Saundra Glover, Department Director
 sglover@mailbox.sc.edu 

University of South Florida, College of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services Research
Dr. Barbara Langland Orban, Associate Professor, Chair    
borban@health.usf.edu 

University of Texas, Houston, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Economics / Health Services Research
Robert O. Morgan, Department Chair 
Robert.O.Morgan@uth.tmc.edu 

University of Washington, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Global Health Metrics and Implementation Science
Emmanuela Gakidou, Program Co-Director
gakidou@uw.edu
Kenneth Sherr, Program Co-Director
ksherr@uw.edu

University of Washington, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services    
Dr. David Grembowski, Director
grem@uw.edu 

University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Medicine and Public Health
Ph.D. in Population Health with concentration in Health Services Research
Dr. Maureen A. Smith, Director, AHRQ Pre-doctoral and Post-doctoral Traineeships in Health Services Research and Healthcare Quality Improvement    
maureensmith@wisc.edu 

Virginia Commonwealth University, School of Allied Health Professions
Ph.D. in Health Services Organization and Research
Dr. Jan P. Clement, Professor and Director
jclement@vcu.edu 

University of Nebraska Medical Center, College of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Services and Policy Research
Dr. Fernando Wilson, Graduate Program Director
fernando.wilson@unmc.edu

 

PhD in Public Health & Informatics

Brandeis University, Heller School for Social Policy and Management
Ph.D. in Health and Behavioral Health 
Dr. Constance Horgan, Director
horgan@brandeis.edu 
Dr. Jon Chilingerian, Director
chilinge@brandeis.edu 

Saint Louis University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Public Health Studies
Dr. Mario Schootman, Director
mario.schootman@slu.edu 

Saint Louis University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Public Health Studies
Dr. Elizabeth Baker, Co-Director
bakerpa@slu.edu 

Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine
Ph.D. in Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
Dr. Nickalaus Koziura, Administrative Director
nlk34@case.edu

University of Texas, Houston, School of Biomedical Informatics
Ph.D. in Biomedical Informatics
Dr. Dean F. Sittig, Program Director
dean.f.sittig@uth.tmc.edu 

 

PhD in Health Policy & Management

Dartmouth College, Dartmouth Medical School 
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Clinical Practice
Dr. Robert E. Drake, Director of PhD Program, Professor of Psychiatry, of Community & Family Medicine and of The Dartmouth Institute    
robert.e.drake@dartmouth.edu

Harvard University, School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Policy
Deborah Whitney, Executive Director
deborah_whitney@harvard.edu 

Indiana University, Fairbanks School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Dr. Chris Harle, Associate Professor, Health Policy and Management
charle@iu.edu 

Penn State University, College of Health and Human Development
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Administration
Dr. Bobbi Robison, Program Coordinator
smr38@psu.edu 

Tulane University, School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine    
Ph.D. in Global Health Management and Policy
Dr. Valerie Yeager, Program Director
ghmp@tulane.edu 

University of California, Berkeley, School of Public Health 
Ph.D. in Health Policy
Dr. Hector Rodriguez, Program Director
hrod@berkeley.edu 

University of California, Los Angeles, Fielding School of Public Health 
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Anna Lim, Program Contact
apark@ph.ucla.edu

University of Kansas, School of Medicine
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Dr. Mary Zimmerman, Professor and Ph.D. Program Director
mzimmerman@ku.edu 

University of Illinois, Chicago
School of Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Administration
Dr. Anthony T. LoSasso,     Professor 
losasso@uic.edu 

University of Massachusetts, Amherst, School of Public Health and Health Sciences
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Dr. Michael Begay, Associate Professor
begay@schoolph.umass.edu 

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Dr. Timothy S. Carey, Program Director 
carey@med.unc.edu 

University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School
Ph.D. in Health Care Management and Economics
Joanne Levy, Associate Director
levyj@wharton.upenn.edu 

Yale University, Yale School of Public Health 
Ph.D. in Health Policy and Management    
Dr. Howard Paul Forman, Professor, Director, Health Care Management Program
howard.forman@yale.edu 
 

Masters Degrees

Case Western Reserve University, School of Medicine
M.S. in Population and Quantitative Health Sciences
Nickalaus Koziura, Administrative Director
nlk34@case.edu 

Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine
Masters in Health Services and Outcomes Research
Dr. Jane L. Holl, Program Director
j-holl@northwestern.edu 

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health    
MPH in Environmental Systems and Human Health
Dr. Rick Johnson, Program Director 
johnsori@ohsu.edu 

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health
MPH in Epidemiology
Dr. Janne Boone-Heinonen, Program Director
boonej@ohsu.edu 

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health
MPH in Health Promotion
Dr. Lynne Messer, Program Director
lymesser@pdx.edu 

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health
MPH in Health Care and Health Disparities
Dr. Elizabeth Waddell, Program Director
waddelle@ohsu.edu

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health
MPH in Biostatistics
Dr. Rochelle Fu, Program Director
fur@ohsu.edu 

Oregon Health Science University, School of Public Health
MPH in Management and Policy    
Dr. Julia Goodman, Program Director
jmg@pdx.edu 

University of California, Los Angeles, Fielding School of Public Health
M.S. in Health Policy and Management    
Anna Lim, Program Contact
apark@ph.ucla.edu 

Weill Cornell Medical College
M.S. in Clinical Epidemiology & Health Services Research
Dr. Mary E. Charlson, Distinguished Professor of Medicine Program Director
rra2004@med.cornell.edu