2022 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

Xin Hu headshot

Xin Hu, M.S.H.C.M.

Ph.D. Candidate - Emory University

Xin Hu is a PhD candidate in Health Services Research and Health Policy (Health Economics Track) at Emory University. She obtained her bachelor's degree in Public Service Administration from Fudan University, and master's degree in Health Policy and Management from Emory University. Read Bio

stephanie loo headshot

Stephanie Loo, M.Sc.

Doctoral Candidate - Boston University

Stephanie Loo is a doctoral candidate in Health Services Research at Boston University School of Public Health. She received her BS in Anthropology and Human Biology from Emory University and MSc in Global Health and Population from Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Read Bio

Tianyue Mi headshot

Tianyue Mi, M.A.

Ph.D. Candidate - University of South Carolina

Tianyue Mi is a Ph.D. Candidate in Health Promotion, Education, and Behavior (HPEB) at the Arnold School of Public Health, University of South Carolina (UofSC), and a pre-doctoral research trainee at the South Carolina SmartState Center for Healthcare Quality (CHQ). Read Bio

Wenbo Wu headshot

Wenbo Wu, M.A.

Ph.D. Candidate - University of Michigan

Wenbo Wu is a Ph.D. candidate in Biostatistics and Scientific Computing in the Department of Biostatistics and the Michigan Institute for Computational Discovery & Engineering at the University of Michigan. Read Bio


2022 Health Datapalooza & National Health Policy Conference Recipients

Meghna Katta headshot

Meghna Katta

Medical Student - University of Alabama at Birmingham

Meghna Katta is a medical student at the University of Alabama with undergraduate degrees from Northwestern University. Read Bio

Zoe Lindenfeld headshot

Zoe Lindenfeld

Ph.D. Student - New York University

Zoe Lindenfeld is a Ph.D student in Public Health Policy and Management at New York University School of Global Public Health. Read Bio


2021 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

Amy Bugwadia headshot

Amy Bugwadia

Student - Stanford University

Amy Bugwadia is a chronic illness patient and advocate and an M.S. candidate at the Stanford University School of Medicine. Read Bio

alexander gunn headshot

Alexander Gunn

Medical Student - Duke University School of Medicine

Alexander is a medical student at Duke University School of Medicine with an interest in research examining the patient experience in oncology care. Read Bio

yechu hua headshot

Yechu Hua, M.A.

Doctoral Candidate - University of Rochester

Yechu Hua is a doctoral candidate in the Health Services Research and Policy program at the University of Rochester Medical Center, with a primary research interest involving the use of economic theory and applied econometrics to understand approaches to improving the value of health care. Read Bio

Vrushabh Ladage headshot

Vrushabh Ladage

Doctoral Student - Dartmouth College

Vrushabh Ladage is, a doctoral student at The Dartmouth Institute, is interested in exploring dissertation research themes stemming from the intersection of policy evaluations through administrative claims data, systems-level innovations, alternative payment models, and leveraging nudges to drive decision making and transform care delivery toward higher-value. Read Bio


2021 Health Datapalooza & National Health Policy Conference Recipients

Anton Avanceña headshot

Anton Avanceña

Ph.D. Candidate - University of Michigan

Anton Avanceña is a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Michigan School of Public Health and received a 2021 AcademyHealth Health Datapalooza/National Health Policy Conference Alice S. Hersh Student Scholarship. Read Bio

Elsie Essien

Elsie Essien, M.P.H.

Doctoral Student - University of Maryland School of Public Health

Elsie Essien, M.P.H. is a doctoral student at the University of Maryland and the winner of an AcademyHealth Alice S. Hersh Student Scholarship in 2021. Read Bio


2020 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

Tongtan Chantarat headshot
Committee Member, Member

Tongtan (Bert) Chantarat, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Research Scientist - Center for Antiracism Research for Health Equity, University of Minnesota

Tongtan “Bert” Chantarat is a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Antiracism Research for Health Equity, Uni... Read Bio

Tessa Matson Headshot

Tessa Matson, M.P.H.

Ph.D. Student - University of Washington

Tessa Matson is a doctoral student in the Department of Health Services at the University of Washington. Read Bio

Jacqueline Nikpour Headshot

Jacqueline Nikpour, B.S.N., R.N.

Ph.D. Student - Duke University School of Nursing

Jacqueline Nikpour is a Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Future of Nursing Scholar and a rising third-year PhD s... Read Bio


2020 Health Datapalooza & National Health Policy Conference Recipients

  • Kellan Baker, M.P.H., M.A.
  • Susan Fleurant, J.D., M.P.H.

2019 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Karan Chhabra, M.D.
  • Deborah Mack, M.P.H.. Ph.D. candidate
  • David Meyers, M.P.H., Ph.D. candidate
  • Maddy Oritt, M.P.A., Ph.D. candidate

2019 National Health Policy Conference Recipients

  • Kevin Griffith, M.P.A., Ph.D. candidate
  • Bikki Smith, M.A., M.S.W., Ph.D. candidate

2018 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Madeline Sterling, T32 AHRQ-Fellow
  • Sunny Lin, Ph.D. candidate
  • Yoonhee Patricia Ha, M.D.-Ph.D. candidate,
  • Julia Berenson, Ph.D. candidate

2018 National Health Policy Conference Recipients

  • Sarah Gordon, M.S., Ph.D., candidate
  • Brystana Kaufman, M.S.P.H., Ph.D., candidate

2017 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Lee Squitieri, M.D., M.S., Ph.D., candidate
  • Peiyin Hung, M.S.P.H. Ph.D., candidate
  • Alex Woersching, M.S., Ph.D., candidate
  • Erin Mobley, M.P.H., Ph.D., candidate

2017 National Health Policy Conference Recipients

  • Adam Markovitz, M.D., Ph.D. candidate
  • Kathryn Tringale, M.D., Masters candidate

2016 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Martin Wegman, M.D., Ph.D. candidate
  • Robin Ulep, M.D. candidate 
  • Rosa Avila, M.S.P.H., Ph.D. candidate 
  • Yan Xu, B.Sc., M.D. candidate

2015 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Sharon Attipoe-Dorcoo, M.P.H., M.S. 
  • Giffin Daughtridge, M.D. candidate 
  • Sidney Le, M.D. candidate
  • Naomi Zewde, M.P.H. 

2015 National Health Policy Conference Recipients

  • Simon Basseyn, M.D.,M.B.A. candidate
  • Eline van den Broek-Altenburg, Ph.D. candidate

2014 Annual Research Meeting Recipients

  • Erica Bridge, M.A. candidate
  • Kristine Himmerick, Ph.D. candidate
  • Allan Joseph, M.D. candidate
  •  Isabelle Kusters, Ph.D. candidate 

Back to the main Alice H. Hersh Student Scholarship page.