The AcademyHealth Annual Research Meeting (ARM) is the gathering place for thousands of individuals leading the charge to transform delivery systems and health care in a rapidly changing landscape. As the premier forum for health services research (HSR), the ARM convenes the foremost experts at the intersection of health, health care, and policy to share important findings and showcase the latest research on how the health system works, what it costs, and how to improve it.

Future ARM Dates

Date Location
June 25-27, 2023 Washington State Convention Center | Seattle, WA

2022 Planning Committee


Tracy Lieu Headshot
Committee Member

Tracy Lieu, M.D., M.P.H.

Director of the Division of Research - Kaiser Permanente Northern California

Tracy Lieu, MD, MPH, is Director of the Division of Research, Kaiser Permanente Northern California. Read Bio

Vice Chair

Chima Ndumele Headshot
Committee Member

Chima Ndumele, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Associate Professor of Health Policy - Yale School of Public Health

Dr. Chima Ndumele is an Associate Professor of Health Policy at the Yale School of Public Health and a Faculty... Read Bio


Julia Adler-Milstein Headshot
Committee Member

Julia Adler-Milstein, Ph.D.

Professor of Medicine - UCSF Department of Medicine

Dr. Adler-Milstein is a leading researcher in health IT policy, with a specific focus on electronic health rec... Read Bio

Michael Cary Headshot
Member, Researcher

Michael Cary Jr., Ph.D., RN

Associate Professor in the School of Nursing - Duke University

Dr. Cary is an assistant professor in the School of Nursing, senior fellow in the Center for the Study of Agin... Read Bio

Tongtan Chantarat headshot
Committee Member, Member

Tongtan (Bert) Chantarat, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Postdoctoral Fellow - Center for Antiracism Research for Health Equity, University of Minnesota

Tongtan “Bert” Chantarat is a postdoctoral fellow at the Center for Antiracism Research for Health Equity, Uni... Read Bio

Francis Chesley Headshot
Committee Member

Francis Chesley, Jr., M.D.

Director - Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Dr. Chesley is the Director of the Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations and the ... Read Bio


Deborah Cohen, Ph.D.

Associate Professor in the Department of Family Medicine - Oregon Health & Science University

Deborah Cohen, PhD, is a Professor and Vice Chair of Research in the Department of Family Medicine at Oregon H... Read Bio

RTI International Headshot
Committee Member

Steve Cohen, Ph.D.

Vice President, Statistical and Data Sciences - RTI International

Dr. Cohen serves as Vice President of Statistical and Data Sciences at RTI International. Read Bio

Evan Cole Headshot
Committee Member

Evan Cole, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Research Assistant Professor - University of Pittsburgh

Evan Cole is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management in the Graduate ... Read Bio

Chelsea Fosse Headshot
Committee Member

Chelsea Fosse, D.M.D., M.P.H.

Senior Health Policy Analyst - Health Policy Institute (HPI) of the American Dental Association

Chelsea Fosse DMD MPH is the Senior Health Policy Analyst at the Health Policy Institute (HPI) of the American... Read Bio

Gilbert Gonzales Headshot
Committee Member

Gilbert Gonzales, Ph.D., M.H.A.

Assistant Professor - Vanderbilt University

Gilbert Gonzales, PhD, MHA, is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Medicine, Health & Society, the Dep... Read Bio

Nataliya Ivankova headshot
Committee Member, Member

Nataliya Ivankova, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Professor - University of Alabama at Birmingham

Nataliya V. Ivankova, PhD, MPH, is Professor in the Department of Health Services Administration, School of He... Read Bio

Rohan Khazanchi Headshot
Committee Member

Rohan Khazanchi, M.P.H.

Graduate Research Assistant - Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute and University of Nebraska Medical Center
Amy Kilbourne Headshot
Committee Member, Presenter

Amy Kilbourne, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Director - Quality Enhancement Research Initiative, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Dr. Amy M. Kilbourne, PhD, MPH is Director of the VA Quality Enhancement Research Initiative (QUERI) and Profe... Read Bio

Aimee Kroll-Desrosiers Headshot
Committee Member, Member

Aimee Kroll-Desrosiers Ph.D., M.S.

Research Health Scientist - VA Central Western Massachusetts

Aimee Kroll-Desrosiers, PhD MS, is a health services researcher with a background in epidemiology, biostatisti... Read Bio

Aparna Kumar Headshot
Committee Member, Member

Aparna Kumar, CRNP, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor - Thomas Jefferson University

Dr. Aparna Kumar is a psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner (PMHNP-BC) who works to ensure that mental ... Read Bio

Danielle Laraque-Arena Headshot
Committee Member

Danielle Laraque-Arena, M.D., FAAP

Senior Scholar in Residence - New York Academy of Medicine

Dr. Danielle Laraque-Arena is a Senior Scholar in Residence at the New York Academy of Medicine, Adjunct Profe... Read Bio

Erika Martin Headshot
Committee Member

Erika Martin, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Associate Professor - University at Albany

As an applied health policy and public health systems researcher, Dr. Erika Martin uses mixed methods to evalu... Read Bio

Ingrid Nembhard Headshot
Committee Member

Ingrid Nembhard, Ph.D., M.S.

Fishman Family President’s Distinguished Professor - The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania

Ingrid M. Nembhard, Ph.D., M.S., is the , Associate Professor of Health Care Management at The Wharton School ... Read Bio

Adam Sacarny Headshot
Committee Member

Adam Sacarny, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor - Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health

Adam Sacarny, PhD is an Assistant Professor of Health Policy and Management at the Columbia University Mailman... Read Bio

Katherine Sanchez Headshot
Committee Member

Katherine Sanchez, Ph.D., LCSW

Associate Professor & Associate Dean for Research - University of Texas at Arlington School of Social Work

Katherine Sanchez, Ph.D., L.C.S.W. is an Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Research at the University... Read Bio

Darshak Sanghavi Headshot
Committee Member

Darshak Sanghavi, M.D.

Global Chief Medical Officer - Babylon Health

Darshak Sanghavi, MD, is Global Chief Medical Officer for Babylon Health, the global end-to-end digital health... Read Bio

Mona Shah

Mona Shah, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Senior Program Officer - The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Mona Shah, Ph.D., M.P.H., a senior program officer in the Research-Evaluation-Learning unit, joined the Robert... Read Bio

Connie Shao Headshot
Committee Member, Member

Connie Shao, M.D., M.P.H.

General Surgery Resident - University of Alabama at Birmingham

Connie Shao is a general surgery resident at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. Read Bio

Carla Shoff Headshot
Committee Member

Carla Shoff, Ph.D.

Social Science Research Analyst - Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Carla Shoff, Ph.D. is a demographer and rural sociologist working as a social science research analyst at the ... Read Bio